GoAuto Car Insurance Review & Ratings (2024)

This GoAuto Car Insurance Review will cover GoAuto Car Insurance ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your area, enter your ZIP code below.

UPDATED: Nov 22, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 22, 2023Fact Checked

Imani Francies

Insurance and Finance Writer

Imani Francies is a finance and insurance writer who has strong media and communication skills with a bachelor's degree from Georgia State University. She began her writing career freelancing with various blogs and internships while working full-time as an early childhood educator. She has significant experience in both print and online media as a writer, editor, and author. She works efficient...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

UPDATED: Nov 22, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 22, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 22, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 22, 2023Fact Checked
3.3
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Goauto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Its user-friendly website allows you to start claims, make payments, and get quotes
  • The mobile app receives excellent reviews
  • The website is available in Spanish

Cons

  • It is only available in Texas, Ohio, Nevada, and Louisiana
  • Finding specific details about GoAuto car insurance is difficult
  • The company receives more negative reviews than expected for its size

Final Verdict: Review of Goauto Insurance

GoAuto only sells insurance in Ohio, Texas, Nevada, and Louisiana, but it might be your best bet for coverage if you live in one of those states. GoAuto ensures it keeps its rates as low as possible by skipping the commissioned agents that most companies use. Despite its promises, however, GoAuto rates tend to be about average.

Although GoAuto promises low rates, the only way to find which rates are the lowest for you is to compare prices with as many companies as possible. If you skip this crucial step in finding car insurance, you’ll likely overpay.

What You Should Know About GoAuto

The Rundown

  • GoAuto is a small insurance company that sells coverage in Texas, Ohio, Nevada, and Louisiana
  • While it promises low rates, GoAuto’s prices usually match the national average
  • While some customers are satisfied with their coverage, GoAuto receives more complaints than similarly-sized companies

Founded in 2009, GoAuto is a relative newcomer to the car insurance market. Despite its youth, GoAuto offers affordable coverage for drivers in Texas, Ohio, Nevada, and its home state of Louisiana.

GoAuto sets itself apart from the competition by selling insurance directly to its customers rather than using commissioned agents. Not having a middle-man helps keep your insurance rates low and means you’ll get unbiased insurance advice — GoAuto promises its sales representatives won’t upsell you coverage you don’t need.

Whether you need full coverage auto insurance or minimum insurance, GoAuto might be the cheapest company for you. However, the only way to be sure is to compare rates with multiple companies. Read on to explore GoAuto car insurance reviews and ratings to see if it’s the right company for you.

GoAuto Insurance Coverage Options

When you shop for car insurance, there are two main policies to consider — minimum insurance and full coverage.

Minimum insurance is the least amount of coverage you can purchase and still legally drive or register your car. If you want to buy the least amount of car insurance you need, the minimum coverage is the policy for you. Most states require liability insurance, and many include uninsured motorist or personal injury protection coverage.

While minimum insurance is your cheapest option, it’s not necessarily the right choice. Full coverage is never required by law, but you might need it if you have a car loan or lease. It’s also a good idea if your car is new or expensive or if you can’t afford to replace your vehicle. These policies include liability, comprehensive, collision, uninsured/underinsured motorist, and either personal injury protection or medical payments coverage.

You can buy the following standard car insurance types from GoAuto:

  • Bodily injury: This half of liability insurance pays for injuries you cause to other drivers, their passengers, and bystanders. It does not cover you or your passengers.
  • Property damage: The second half of liability insurance covers damage you cause to other people’s property, including cars and buildings. It doesn’t cover your car.
  • Collision: If you want help repairing your car after an accident you cause, you will need collision car insurance for covering repair costs. Buying collision insurance also covers you if you hit a stationary object, like a tree.
  • Comprehensive: For life’s unexpected events, there’s comprehensive insurance. Comprehensive insurance repairs your car after a fire, floods, extreme weather, theft, animal contact, and vandalism.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: According to the Insurance Information Institute, nearly 13% of American drivers don’t have car insurance. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage protects you from drivers who don’t have enough coverage.
  • Personal injury protection/medical payments: Medical payments and personal injury protection pay for your health care bills after an accident. The coverage you can buy depends on where you live.

Full coverage includes everything listed above, which is why it costs more. While this coverage is relatively complete, it doesn’t cover everything. Most companies offer add-ons to increase the coverage in your policy, but you should be careful — the more coverage you buy, the more you’ll have to pay.

Does Goauto sell car insurance add-ons?

Unfortunately, GoAuto is vague about the availability of add-ons. If you’re interested in adding coverage to your policy, you’ll need to speak with a GoAuto representative.

While GoAuto is unclear about its add-on options, it’s helpful to know what to ask about. Some of the most popular add-ons for car insurance include:

  • Roadside assistance: Roadside assistance coverage plans will send help when you’re stranded on the side of the road. Details vary by plan but usually cover flat tires, dead batteries, locksmith services, towing, and fuel delivery.
  • Rental car reimbursement: If your car is stuck at the mechanic’s after a covered incident, your policy will pay for your rental car. It’s important to check what your plan covers since most limit how many days your rental is covered.
  • Original equipment manufacturer (OEM) parts: When you need repairs after an accident, most insurance companies require mechanics to use aftermarket parts to keep costs low. If you buy this coverage, your policy will pay for OEM parts instead.
  • Gap insurance: If you total a financed car, there’s a good chance you’ll owe more on your loan than your vehicle is worth. Gap insurance pays the difference, so you’re not stuck paying for a car you no longer drive. The amount you pay for gap insurance will be worth it if you still owe a lot of money on your vehicle.

These are only some of the most popular add-ons companies offer to help customers increase the value of their policies. Although GoAuto doesn’t list what — if any  — add-ons it sells, a representative can tell you if there’s anything you can add to your policy.

If a GoAuto representative has add-ons to offer, you should be cautious about adding too many. Drivers should only add what they need to their policies to help keep their rates low — add-ons can get pricey quickly.

Does Goauto sell other types of insurance?

GoAuto is dedicated to one thing — selling affordable car insurance. To that effect, it only sells coverage for cars. If you want insurance for other things, like your home, boat, or camper, you’ll have to go elsewhere.

If you only need car insurance, GoAuto might be your best option. However, you might see a discount for bundling policies at another company if you want coverage for multiple things.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

GoAuto Insurance Rates Breakdown

Although GoAuto is a smaller company, it promises big savings. When you look at GoAuto quotes, however, rates are closer to the national average than significant savings.

Like all other insurance companies, GoAuto’s rates depend on a variety of factors unique to you. The factors that affect your car insurance include:

  • Age and gender: Your age and gender play a role in your rates because companies keep careful track of claims numbers. Younger drivers and men tend to make more claims, so they pay higher prices. You won’t have to pay high prices forever, though — the price gap lessens with age.
  • Location: Another important aspect of your insurance rates is where you live. You can see vastly different rates by moving even a single ZIP code over.
  • Driving history: One of the most crucial influencing factors for your rates is your driving history. If you have traffic infractions like speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUIs, you’ll pay more for insurance.
  • Marital status: Married people file fewer claims than single drivers, so most companies offer a small discount for people who have tied the knot.
  • Credit score: Except in a few states where the practice is illegal, insurance companies can use your credit score as part of the basis of your quotes. The higher your score, the less you’ll pay for insurance.
  • Model of your car: The type of car you drive affects your insurance primarily because of repair and replacement costs. The more your car costs to repair, the more you’ll pay for coverage.

GoAuto looks at these factors to determine your rates. Rates usually match the national average, but you might pay much more or less depending on your unique circumstances. While GoAuto isn’t exactly forthcoming about its rates, you can get an idea based on how much the average driver pays for insurance in your state.

Goauto Rates by Coverage

One of the most important factors to consider when comparison shopping is how much car insurance coverage you will need. Minimum insurance is your cheapest option for coverage, but it leaves you with the financial risk of paying for your own car repairs. The amount of insurance you need to drive depends on your state, but most minimum policies are affordable.

You’ll pay more for full coverage, but it offers much better protection for your car. Many drivers benefit from full coverage, but it’s not necessarily the best choice for everyone. If you’re unsure, a representative can help you decide.

Since GoAuto rates tend to match the national average, you can get an idea of what you might pay for coverage by looking at the average rates in your state. The following rates will be for full coverage auto insurance.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Company
Auto Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rate for a 30-year-old Male Driver in OhioAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rate for a 30-year-old Male Driver in LouisianaAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rate for a 30-year-old Male Driver in NevadaAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rate for a 30-year-old Male Driver in Texas
Progressive$114.18$212.62$106.83$152.77
Geico$58.09$119.77$95.32$105.87
Allstate$129.84$237.23$182.82$247.14
State Farm$90.13$149.82$123.45$97.56

As you can see, some states are cheaper than others. Louisiana is especially pricey for car insurance due to several reasons, including an increased risk of extreme weather and high minimum insurance requirements. Other states, like Ohio, are far more affordable.

Goauto Rates by Age

You saw above that your age and gender have a significant impact on your rates. Young drivers are more likely to get into accidents, drive recklessly, and file other claims compared to older adults, so they see some of the highest rates.

Men pay higher rates for the same reason, though the price difference lessens with age. As long as you keep your driving record clean, your insurance rates will lessen around age 25.

Check below to see average rates by age and gender in the states GoAuto sells insurance in.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender
Auto Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for a 16-year-old Male Driver in OhioAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for a 16-year-old Female Driver in OhioAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for a 16-year-old Male Driver in NevadaAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for a 16-year-old Female Driver in NevadaAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for a 16-year-old Male Driver in LouisianaAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for a 16-year-old Female Driver in LouisianaAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for a 16-year-old Male Driver in TexasAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for a 16-year-old Female Driver in Texas
Progressive$807.49$785.19$815.07$818.23$1,399.29$1,373.23$1,015.88$992.87
Geico$163.62$193.23$273.03$341.91$582.62$599.24$238.25$250.95
Allstate$426.31$410.05$724.57$663.26$623.28$540.24$709.50$645.76
State Farm$307.98$270.81$447.71$388.12$516.99$455.48$315.12$270.02

While teens pay much higher rates for car insurance, you can help lower their costs by adding them to a pre-existing policy.

Goauto Rates After an At-Fault Accident

While traffic incidents will always have an impact on your rates, few things are more influential than at-fault accidents. The average at-fault accident will increase your rates by about 42%, but some companies increase prices by much more. You’ll see even higher rates if you have multiple at-fault accidents, and you might be dropped as a customer if you have too many.

Once again, GoAuto is not clear about how much it charges after an accident. However, you can get an idea of how much you might pay for GoAuto insurance by looking at rates from some of its competitors.

Once again, GoAuto does not post rates after an accident, but you can expect to pay much more for your coverage. You can get an idea of how much other companies charge for insurance below.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates After an Accident
Auto Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for a 45-year-old Male Driver with an Accident
U.S. Average$172.68
Progressive$185.81
Geico$132.47
Allstate$225.04
State Farm$102.30
Nationwide$161.45

You might notice in the prices above that some companies are much more forgiving than others when it comes to accidents. This highlights why it’s important to compare rates — you’ll likely overpay for your coverage if you don’t. GoAuto promises low rates, but you should always compare prices with other companies.

You’ll see higher rates after an at-fault accident, but you won’t have to pay them forever. Insurance rates return to normal after about three years, as long as you don’t add more infractions to your record.

Goauto Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Speeding tickets are another infraction that can significantly increase your rates. The average policy increases by about 23% after a speeding ticket, but you’ll see much higher increases if you have multiple. You might need high-risk car insurance if you have too many tickets.

To get an idea of how much you’ll pay for insurance after a speeding ticket, check the average rates for GoAuto’s biggest competitors below.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for a 45-year-old Male with a Ticket
Auto Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates
U.S. Average$146.83
Progressive$139.80
Geico$105.64
Allstate$187.93
State Farm$96.03
USAA$67.31

Since GoAuto has rates that match the national average, you should expect to see prices that aren’t too high but are not the lowest. Once again, you should always compare rates to make sure you’re getting the best deal — you’ll probably see a few lower quotes at different companies.

Like at-fault accidents, you don’t have to pay high rates forever after a speeding ticket. Speeding tickets tend to fall off your insurance record after about three years.

Goauto Rates After a DUI

While speeding tickets and at-fault accidents will raise your rates, DUIs have one of the worst impacts. The average policy increases by a whopping 75% after a DUI, but some drivers will see their rates double or even triple.

GoAuto is unclear about how it treats drivers with a DUI on their record, but you can expect its rates to be about the same as the national average. Check the rates below to see how much other companies charge for insurance after a DUI.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for a 45-year-old Male with a DUI
Auto Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates
U.S. Average$208.94
Progressive$140.02
Geico$216.24
Allstate$269.74
State Farm$112.01
USAA$107.89

DUIs make it especially tricky to find affordable insurance, and you should always check rates after a DUI charge. You might be surprised to see which company has the cheapest rates for you, even if you already have insurance.

Not only do DUIs have some of the highest increases for your rates, but they also impact your policy for much longer than other incidents. The average DUI affects your car insurance for about seven years.

Goauto Rates by Credit Score

One of the final factors companies look at when crafting your quotes is your credit score. Companies look at your credit score for two reasons. First, people with higher credit scores are more likely to pay their monthly bills on time. The second reason is that people with lower scores tend to file more claims.

Again, it is unclear if GoAuto is a cheap option for car insurance if you have a low credit score. However, chances are the higher your credit score, the better and more affordable your rates will be. Drivers with higher credit scores are seen as responsible, being a low-risk investment for auto insurance companies.

Drivers with low credit scores should carefully consider their options. Finding affordable coverage is trickier with a low credit score because many companies charge much more. For example, Geico is usually a cheap option for coverage, but it charges much more when you have a low credit score.

While rates are high when you have a low credit score, you can get better rates by improving your score. Companies reevaluate your policy at every renewal, and they will lower your rates if you’ve improved your credit score.

GoAuto Discounts Available

Most insurance companies offer discounts to help keep your rates low, and GoAuto is no different. It might not be the longest list of discounts, but GoAuto offers a few valuable ways to save.

When you shop with GoAuto, you’ll gain access to the following discounts:

  • Military members: GoAuto is one of the only companies that offer a discount for military members. Ask a representative to see which military members are eligible for a discount.
  • Safe driver: GoAuto will give a discount to any driver that avoids traffic infractions like speeding tickets or at-fault accidents. You’ll need to check for details, but most companies require drivers to have a clean record for about three years.
  • Multi-car: If your household has multiple cars, you’ll earn a discount on each if you insure them under the same policy.
  • New customer: GoAuto will give you a small discount if you switch from another company, as long as you had the previous policy for six months or longer.
  • Safety devices: You’ll save on your car insurance if your vehicle has anti-lock brakes or airbags.

As you can see, GoAuto doesn’t have the longest list of discounts to help you save. Other companies offer better selections, including discounts for things like maintaining a good GPA or bundling multiple policies. However, it is a relatively decent list — a representative will make sure you get every discount you’re eligible for.

Taking a Closer Look at How Goauto Car Insurance Processes Claims

Ease of Filing a Claim

GoAuto offers multiple convenient options for filing a claim. Customers can initiate the claims process online through the company’s website or mobile app, providing a user-friendly and accessible platform for reporting incidents. Additionally, claims can be filed over the phone, ensuring flexibility in how policyholders choose to report their claims.

Average Claim Processing Time

While specific claim processing times may vary depending on the complexity of the claim and individual circumstances, GoAuto strives to efficiently handle claims. However, it’s essential to keep in mind that the average claim processing time can be influenced by factors such as the nature of the claim and the volume of claims received.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback plays a crucial role in evaluating an insurance company’s performance in handling claims. GoAuto’s approach to claim resolutions and payouts has generated mixed reviews from policyholders. Some customers express satisfaction with the company’s responsiveness and smooth claims process, while others have raised concerns about delays and disputes related to payouts.

It’s advisable for potential customers to consider both positive and negative feedback when assessing GoAuto’s claims handling.

Goauto Car Insurance Digital and Technological Transformation in Insurance

Mobile App Features and Functionality

GoAuto offers a mobile app that provides policyholders with convenient access to various features and functionalities. The app allows users to manage their policies, access digital insurance documents, and initiate the claims process from their mobile devices. It also offers features like bill payment and policy renewal reminders, enhancing the overall user experience.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Policyholders can easily manage their insurance policies through GoAuto’s online account management platform. This digital interface enables customers to review policy details, update personal information, make payments, and request policy changes. The user-friendly online portal enhances the convenience of policy management, saving time and effort for customers.

Digital Tools and Resources

In addition to the mobile app and online account management, GoAuto provides various digital tools and resources to support its customers. These tools may include online policy quotes, informational articles, and educational resources to help customers make informed decisions about their insurance coverage. Such digital assets contribute to a more comprehensive and user-centric insurance experience.

How GoAuto Ranks Among Providers

GoAuto Car Insurance operates in a competitive market alongside several key players. Here, we’ll explore some of its main competitors, highlighting their key features and offerings.

  • Geico Car Insurance: Geico is a well-established giant in the auto insurance industry. Known for its catchy advertising and competitive rates, Geico offers a wide range of coverage options. It is recognized for its user-friendly online platform, efficient claims processing, and numerous discounts, making it a popular choice for drivers nationwide.
  • Progressive Car Insurance: Progressive is a major player in the car insurance industry, offering a variety of coverage options and discounts. One of its standout features is the Snapshot program, which allows drivers to potentially lower their rates based on their driving habits. Progressive is known for its strong online presence, allowing customers to manage policies and file claims seamlessly.
  • State Farm Car Insurance: State Farm is one of the largest and oldest insurance companies in the United States. It provides a range of insurance products, including auto insurance. State Farm is recognized for its extensive network of agents, personalized service, and various discounts.
  • Allstate Car Insurance: Allstate is a prominent insurance provider with a comprehensive array of coverage options. Known for its innovative features like Drivewise, which monitors driving behavior to potentially reduce rates, Allstate caters to a diverse range of drivers. The company places a strong emphasis on customer satisfaction and offers various tools and resources for policy management.
  • Esurance: Esurance, an Allstate company, operates primarily online, providing a convenient and digital-centric experience. With a focus on simplicity and efficiency, Esurance offers a straightforward approach to obtaining quotes, managing policies, and filing claims. The company is often praised for its user-friendly interface and competitive rates.

These competitors, along with GoAuto, contribute to a dynamic landscape of car insurance options. When choosing the right insurance provider, individuals should consider factors such as coverage options, pricing, customer service, and any unique features offered by each company.

Is Goauto a good insurance company?

Getting an idea if a company is a good option for car insurance is usually simple. By looking at third-party ratings, you can get an idea of how most insurance companies do for customer service, financial strength, and complaints.

Unfortunately, GoAuto is not large enough to garner attention from some of the most prominent third-party rating companies. For example, A.M. Best rates companies on their financial strength, which is an important aspect of car insurance. Financially strong companies don’t have trouble paying future claims, so A.M. Best’s ratings usually play an essential role in decisions about buying insurance.

GoAuto doesn’t have a rating from A.M. Best, primarily because it’s too small. That doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s a financially unstable company, but there is no third-party rating to confirm how it does.

While an A.M. Best rating is unavailable, you can look at the Better Business Bureau (BBB). The BBB rates companies on their ability to resolve customer complaints. GoAuto has an impressive score of A+, but several complaints are listed on the site.

Another place to look for ratings is the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). The NAIC rates companies on the number of complaints they receive compared to their size. The national average is 1.0 — anything higher means the company receives more complaints.

GoAuto has a rating of 2.23, meaning it receives double the amount of complaints from similarly sized companies.

As for customer reviews, GoAuto receives mixed ratings. Some customers state they are happy with the affordable coverage and how easy it is to manage their policies. Others say that GoAuto is hesitant to pay claims, raises rates without satisfactory reasons, and has representatives that are slow to respond.

Frequently Asked Questions

What states does GoAuto offer insurance in?

GoAuto sells insurance in four states — Louisiana, Ohio, Texas, and Nevada. GoAuto is headquartered in Louisiana and is most popular in the Bayou State.

Is GoAuto Insurance legit?

Wondering if GoAuto’s low prices are too good to be true? There’s no reason to fret — GoAuto is completely legit. While its insurance is reliable, it doesn’t always have the best reviews. You should always compare with other companies to make sure you find the best policy.

How do you get a quote from GoAuto?

Like most insurance companies, you can start a quote on the GoAuto website, on the app, or by speaking with a representative.

How do I file a claim with GoAuto?

Filing a claim with GoAuto is a relatively simple task. You can start one on the website, through the mobile app, or by calling a representative. Make sure to have as much information as possible before you start your claim, including police report numbers and contact information for witnesses.

How do I cancel GoAuto Insurance?

Unfortunately, GoAuto does not offer an online option to cancel your car insurance. Instead, you’ll need to speak with a representative if you no longer wish to get your coverage from GoAuto.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Imani Francies

Insurance and Finance Writer

Imani Francies is a finance and insurance writer who has strong media and communication skills with a bachelor's degree from Georgia State University. She began her writing career freelancing with various blogs and internships while working full-time as an early childhood educator. She has significant experience in both print and online media as a writer, editor, and author. She works efficient...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Reviews
for GoAuto

3.33 (62 reviews)
1
August 31, 2023

MzKristel

Go Auto Does Not Honor Coverage

I'm at a lost for words, I CAN NOT SAY ANYTHING NICE ABOUT THIS COMPANY! My husband and I have two vehicles and both covered under this crappy ins. After a year of having the policy and just before renewal; we've found ourselves needing to file a claim for vandalism on my Honda CRV. Aug 12 incident happens, Aug 17 intake call with ?'s, Aug 23 adjuster ?'s, Aug 30 fraud dept?'s.... We were victimized and had FULL coverage insurance and yet NO HEL...
I'm at a lost for words, I CAN NOT SAY ANYTHING NICE ABOUT THIS COMPANY! My husband and I have two vehicles and both covered under this crappy ins. After a year of having the policy and just before renewal; we've found ourselves needing to file a claim for vandalism on my Honda CRV. Aug 12 incident happens, Aug 17 intake call with ?'s, Aug 23 adjuster ?'s, Aug 30 fraud dept?'s.... We were victimized and had FULL coverage insurance and yet NO HELP FROM GO AUTO... They did not honor our coverage. IDK what to do now the damages prevents us from driving. We have car, insurance coverage and yet no help.
1
April 21, 2023

Kpal

THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED!

I recently called 4/3rd to update policy because I moved to Texas. My original bill date is the 13th of each month. So I needed to make sure I had a new policy by the 23rd. Agent [REDACTED NAME] told me that she would call me the next day to finalize, never did. Sent me a cancellation request form via email, I responded back following her instructions. Never replied. I emailed again asking to confirm she received my email (4/6th)….NEVER respond...
I recently called 4/3rd to update policy because I moved to Texas. My original bill date is the 13th of each month. So I needed to make sure I had a new policy by the 23rd. Agent [REDACTED NAME] told me that she would call me the next day to finalize, never did. Sent me a cancellation request form via email, I responded back following her instructions. Never replied. I emailed again asking to confirm she received my email (4/6th)….NEVER responded. I called on 4/18th after receiving a “LATE PAYMENT NOTICE” email! Wtf! Spoke to another agent who transferred me back to [REDACTED NAME]! [REDACTED NAME] proceeds to tell me that she did receive my emailSSSSS but didn’t do the cancellation because of DMV reasons. Idk, I’m not an agent. She sucks at actually explaining [REDACTED WORD]! She then tells me “I’m with a customer, I will call you back in 15 min”. That was all on April 18th, 2023. NEVER DID! Today, April 21st, and I had to call [REDACTED NAME] back. She then tells me “I’m off now but I answered because I know I need to assist you”. Wtf? Sis you was supposed to call me back 3 days ago. So she TRANSFERS me to the automated line to choose from the options. My insurance will be cancelled on the 23rd and will be fuckin reported as a failed payment, UNLESS I just pay another fuckin fee of $481 for the state of Louisiana when I live in Texas ! I’m cornered at this point cause I thought I did my part.
1
August 15, 2022

Jamica_Chisley

Go auto with the low ball offers

I had a wreck over a year ago. It was other drivers fault. We both had go auto insurance. Go auto offered me a $1500 settlement. Talking about a low ball offer. In I still havent got paid this wreck was July 2021. Consumers it would be best to go with other insurance companies because Go auto doesn’t want to pay out clams
1
February 7, 2022

Kesha_

Beware!!!

Worst insurance, increase the price when they want, worst customer service and the agents at the store...that is another story...
1
October 4, 2021

Crackcorn58

Bad customer service

had an accident not at fault on sept 17th field a claim no responce ..no call backs no rental been without a car ..next step to get a lawyer I guess today is 10/4/21 still not a word ..........
1
October 4, 2021

Walter_

Dont buy this insurance

Buyer beware, this company does not pay their claims. I've been waiting over a year and still nothing. My car was stolen and they investigated it they know it was stolen the police investigated it and they still procrastinating. Pure garbage that's why they're cheap. They hope you don't file a dam claim.
1
April 8, 2021

walterj

Buyer beware

I've been fighting this company for a year and they refuse to settle my claim. They will find ways to not pay you. May 31, 2020 I left home in Laplace to play a round of golf at New Orleans City Park. I was driving my 2015 Chevy Camaro. The game lasted approximately 31/2hrs. Leaving off 18hole stopped at the clubhouse had food and drinks with some friends. Left out approximately 7pm headed to the car and guess what, car is gone. Shocked and stu...
I've been fighting this company for a year and they refuse to settle my claim. They will find ways to not pay you. May 31, 2020 I left home in Laplace to play a round of golf at New Orleans City Park. I was driving my 2015 Chevy Camaro. The game lasted approximately 31/2hrs. Leaving off 18hole stopped at the clubhouse had food and drinks with some friends. Left out approximately 7pm headed to the car and guess what, car is gone. Shocked and stunned heart beating fast now I'm hoping it's a prank or something but to no avail. Looked around friends done hauled [REDACTED WORD]. Called NOPD took report. Now here is where it gets interesting people. I called GO AUTO, my insurance company to inform them, this was on a Sunday. So Monday I received a call from the adjuster. I gave them everything they asked for. From that point on they went to work on my character, attempting to say my car wasn't stolen and I staged the whole event. Matter of fact even Mr. [REDACTED NAME] who yall know as [REDACTED NAME] the Goauto man, says I wasn't even in New Orleans that day. Lol. Anyway they refused my claim and until this day I'm still fighting. No attorney but I'm still fighting. David vs Goliath. So for all of you who are thinking about getting cheap insurance or Goauto insurance? Buyer beware. You've been warned. I'm a gulf War veteran who survived Iraq and conveyed from Kuwait to Baghdad in a hummv with no armored plates I can deal with GOAUTO
1
March 1, 2021

GoAuto

Don't Use this company.

Save your money and don't waste your time with this company. They are only about money and couldn't care lass about the people people.
1
October 5, 2020

walterj

GO AUTO BUYERS BEWARE NO GOOD

Buyer beware i had my car stolen in may 2020 got police report did everything right. Claims department was very rude and hard to get hold of. Its now October and they have denied my claim i had to hire a lawyer to fight them. THEY DO NOT HONOR their claims. PLEASE BEWARE #SCAMMERS
1
July 28, 2020

Twinn83

Frustrated customer

My vehicle got vandalized a week ago. Nothing has happened. I still don’t have a rental or another vehicle to get back and fourth to work. The initial agent was rude and her supervisor isn’t much better. What’s the use of having full coverage and it’s treated like liability. I’ll never go to them or recommend them to anyone.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption