Allstate Milewise Review: Pros, Cons, & Alternatives (2024)

The average low-mileage driver saves between 25%-33% on standard Allstate insurance rates with Milewise. However, only people who drive fewer than 13,000 miles per year should apply.

UPDATED: Jun 17, 2024Fact Checked

Daniel S. Young

Insurance Content Team Lead

Daniel S. Young is a journalist based in Birmingham, Alabama. He began his professional career in 2018 as a writer, editor, and later chief editor for his student newspaper, The Chanticleer, at Jacksonville State University. He also has written bylines for The Anniston Star, a local newspaper in Anniston, Alabama. He holds a BA  in Communication with a focus in Digital Journalism and is pursuing ...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Dani Best

Licensed Insurance Producer

Dani Best has been a licensed insurance producer for nearly 10 years. Dani began her insurance career in a sales role with State Farm in 2014. During her time in sales, she graduated with her Bachelors in Psychology from Capella University and is currently earning her Masters in Marriage and Family Therapy. Since 2014, Dani has held and maintains licenses in Life, Disability, Property, and Casualt...

Licensed Insurance Producer

UPDATED: Jun 17, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 17, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

On This Page

UPDATED: Jun 17, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Allstate

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$160

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Lower rates for people who drive fewer than 10,000 miles per year
  • Drivers can buy full coverage, rental car reimbursement, and roadside assistance
  • Additional discounts available

Cons

  • Some drivers will see higher rates with Milewise
  • Only available in 21 states
  • Coverage options are limited compared to a standard policy

What You Should Know About Allstate

The Rundown

  • Milewise is Allstate’s pay-per-mile insurance option which helps low-mileage drivers save money
  • Low-mileage Allstate drivers save between 25% and 33% by using Milewise
  • Milewise is available in 21 states and Washington, D.C., and drivers have the option of saving with additional discounts

With more Americans looking to work from home or minimize their carbon footprints by taking public transportation, the traditional model of car insurance no longer suits every driver. Today, many drivers feel like they’re paying for insurance they barely use. Low-mileage drivers can find significant savings with mileage-based auto insurance. Although a few companies specialize in pay-per-mile insurance, you can buy it from standard companies like Nationwide, Liberty Mutual, and Allstate. Allstate’s pay-per-mile insurance program is Milewise. Not to be confused with the safe driving program Drivewise, Milewise can help people who drive less than 13,000 miles annually.  Although there are a variety of factors that affect your rates, the average Allstate driver saves between 25% and 33% on their insurance by using Milewise. Figuring out which insurance option from Allstate would save you the most can be difficult, so it’s best to research your options. Explore Allstate Milewise reviews below, then compare other pay-per-mile insurance companies to find the best plan for you.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What is Allstate Milewise?

Milewise is a pay-per-mile insurance program that gives low-mileage drivers an opportunity to save money. It is one way to get an Allstate low-mileage discount. The primary reason Allstate helps low-mileage drivers is that they present a lower risk of filing claims. The fewer miles someone drives, the less likely they are to get into accidents. Allstate — and all other companies — offer the lowest rates to the least risky drivers.

  • Bodily injury liability. As one-half of liability insurance, this covers injuries you cause to other drivers, their passengers, bicyclists, pedestrians, and anyone else.
  • Property damage liability. The other half of liability insurance covers damage you cause to other people’s property, like vehicles and houses. It does not cover anything that happens to your car.
  • Collision car insurance. If you want your insurance to cover your car, you need collision coverage. Collision not only covers your car after an accident, but it also pays for repairs if you hit a stationary object.
  • Comprehensive car insurance. There’s a lot more than accidents that can damage your car. Comprehensive insurance covers unexpected events like fire, extreme weather, animal contact, vandalism, and theft.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist protection. Although most states require car insurance before you can drive, not everyone follows the law. Uninsured motorist insurance protects you from drivers without coverage and hit-and-runs.
  • Medical payments/personal injury protection. Depending on the state you live in, you can buy either medical payments or personal injury protection insurance. Both cover medical expenses for you and your passengers after an accident.

Signing up for the Milewise program gives you the same coverage options as a standard insurance policy. If you’re considering this option, you might want to research Allstate Milewise customer reviews to ensure it meets your needs. Additionally, it’s wise to investigate any Allstate Drivewise complaints and understand the Allstate full coverage cost. And, in case you have any queries or concerns, don’t hesitate to reach out to Allstate Milewise customer service.

Aside from these basic insurance options, Allstate has two add-ons Allstate Milewise program drivers can choose from:

  • Roadside assistance. Allstate will come to the rescue when you need Allstate Milewise device installation or face Allstate Milewise device problems, towing, flat tire changes, dead batteries, fuel deliveries, or a locksmith. Buy it as a permanent addition to your policy or pay for each use as you need it.
  • Rental car reimbursement. This add-on covers the cost of a rental when your car is being repaired after a covered incident.

Allstate offers drivers a few good options to customize their insurance with Milewise. However, drivers who want more add-on options should consider a standard Allstate policy instead.

How does Allstate Milewise work?

To use Milewise, users are given an Allstate Milewise device which allows them to track their daily mileage. The device easily plugs into your car under your steering wheel. The only criteria for the Milewise tracking device is that the vehicle year must be 1996 or newer. You’ll also need a smartphone for the Allstate Milewise app.

The app is used to record and review your best pay-per-mile car insurance mileage and any accrued costs. Other features of the app include tips on safe driving, vehicle diagnostics, policy details, and more. Many companies with telecommuting car insurance for low mileage drivers policies offer smartphone apps now.

Enrolling in Milewise — or any other car insurance by miles driven program — is slightly different from standard policies. Allstate still looks at a variety of factors to determine your rates, including your age, driving history, and location. However, the most important part of Milewise is how many miles you drive. Milewise splits car insurance rates into two parts.

The first is a flat fee you’ll pay every month no matter how much you drive. It’s determined in the traditional way by looking at factors unique to you. The second half of your Milewise rate is a per-mile fee, which you’ll pay for every mile you drive. Allstate adds these rates together for your monthly bill. For example, if your monthly rate is $48, your per-mile fee is $.07, and you drive 450 miles, you’ll pay $79.50 for your insurance.

Allstate Milewise is a pay-per-mile insurance program that offers flexibility and savings by allowing drivers to pay based on the number of miles they drive. If you’re interested in adding another person to your policy, you can Allstate add a driver easily through their customer service or app. Similarly, if you need to Allstate add a vehicle to my policy, the process is straightforward and can be done online.

For those wondering how to add car to Allstate policy, the website and mobile app provide user-friendly options. Detailed guides are available on how to add a vehicle on Allstate app and how to add a driver to Allstate policy, ensuring a smooth experience. Additionally, the program requires a device installation, and instructions on how to install Allstate Milewise device are provided to help customers get started effortlessly.

Who is eligible for Allstate Milewise?

Although Allstate offers car insurance countrywide, Milewise is only available in 21 states. Although it has limited availability, Milewise is in more states than competitors like Metromile and Mile Auto. States Where Allstate Milewise is Offered

StateAllstate Milewise
AlabamaNo
Alaska
No
Arizona
Yes
Arkansas
No
CaliforniaNo
Colorado
No
Connecticut
No
Delaware
Yes
District of ColumbiaYes
Florida
No
GeorgiaNo
Hawaii
No
Idaho
Yes
IllinoisYes
Indiana
Yes
Iowa
No
Kansas
No
Kentucky
No
LouisianaNo
Maine
No
Maryland
Yes
Massachusetts
Yes
Michigan
No
Minnesota
No
Mississippi
No
Missouri
No
MontanaNo
Nebraska
No
Nevada
No
New Hampshire
No
New Jersey
Yes
New Mexico
No
New YorkNo
North Carolina
No
North Dakota
No
Ohio
Yes
Oklahoma
No
Oregon
Yes
PennsylvaniaYes
Rhode Island
No
South Carolina
No
South Dakota
No
Tennessee
No
Texas
Yes
UtahNo
Vermont
No
Virginia
Yes
Washington
Yes
West Virginia
Yes
Wisconsin
No
WyomingNo

Compare RatesStart Now →

Any Allstate customer can sign up for Milewise, but it’s not the best choice for everyone. Allstate suggests customers who drive fewer than 13,500 miles per year.  People who would get the most benefit from Milewise include:

  • Low-Mileage Drivers: If you drive fewer miles due to various reasons, such as working from home, carpooling, or using public transportation, you may be eligible for the Allstate Milewise Car Insurance Discount. This discount can help you save on your premiums, as you only pay for the miles you actually drive.
  • Occasional Drivers: If you have a secondary vehicle that you don’t drive often, such as a classic car or a seasonal vehicle, you can still benefit from the Allstate Milewise Car Insurance Discount. Since you drive these vehicles less frequently, you can potentially save on insurance costs by paying for the actual miles driven.
  • Senior Citizens: Many senior citizens may not drive as frequently as they used to, especially if they have retired or have limited mobility. Allstate Milewise Car Insurance Discount can be an excellent option for senior citizens who drive less, allowing them to pay for insurance based on their actual usage.
  • Students: Students who live on campus or use public transportation to commute to school may also be eligible for the Allstate Milewise Car Insurance Discount. This discount can be beneficial for students who don’t drive their vehicles frequently, allowing them to save on insurance costs.

Allstate Milewise is best for those who don’t spend hours or time in their vehicle per day. Like a perk for good driving, Milewise allows users to save money by spending money only when the vehicle is in use. Although Allstate recommends Milewise for people who drive fewer than 13,500 miles, many insurance experts say you should only consider a pay-per-mile plan if you drive fewer than 10,000.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

How much does Milewise cost?

The amount you’ll pay for Milewise insurance depends on a variety of factors. While the most important aspect of Milewise is how many miles your drive per month, other considerations include:

  • Age and gender. Insurance companies keep careful track of claims numbers, and the data shows young male drivers file more claims. However, the price gap lessens as drivers get older.
  • Location. Insurance companies know how many claims happen in every city, so you can see different rates by moving even one ZIP code over.
  • Driving history. You’ll pay much more for insurance if you have accidents, tickets, or other driving incidents in your history.
  • Make and model of your car. Luxury and sports cars come with higher insurance prices, primarily because it costs more to repair them.
  • Credit score. Many drivers don’t realize their credit plays an integral part in insurance rates, but companies charge more if you have a low score.
  • Marital status. Most insurance companies give married couples lower rates because they tend to file fewer claims than single drivers.

Read more: Car Insurance Discount for Married Couples Low-mileage drivers with clean records might find that Milewise offers the lowest rates. The exact rates you’ll see depend on how often you drive, so it’s hard to estimate averages.  Milewise rates are between 25% and 33% cheaper than Allstate’s standard car insurance. As long as you’re a low-mileage driver, you can expect to pay less than the quotes listed above.

Pros and Cons of Allstate Milewise

All companies have strengths and weaknesses, and that’s especially important to look at when shopping for pay-per-mile coverage. Allstate Milewise comes with the following benefits:

  • Lower rates for people who drive fewer than 10,000 miles per year
  • Drivers can buy full coverage, rental car reimbursement, and roadside assistance
  • Additional discounts available

Pay-per-mile insurance is not for everyone, so it’s important to understand who can benefit the most from it. Before you sign up for Milewise, you should be aware of the following cons:

  • Some drivers will see higher rates with Milewise
  • Only available in 21 states
  • Coverage options are limited compared to a standard policy

Unlike traditional car insurance where your premium and rate per month remain the same, your rate changes month-to-month with pay-per-mile insurance. Statista explains that while drivers are typically spending less time on the road on average they are still utilizing about 25 miles per day. Driving this much or more per day may suggest that more traditional car insurance coverage may be best for you. While Milewise still offers similar coverage and service as Allstate, Milewise users may not receive all the same perks as traditional Allstate customers. Allstate offers a variety of coverage options ranging from standard policies to specialty programs, so it’s crucial to research your options. Some drivers save between 25% and 33% on their insurance, but Milewise is not right for everyone.

Allstate Insurance Options for Low-Mileage Drivers

When comparing Allstate Milewise vs Drivewise, it’s essential to consider your driving habits and preferences. While Milewise offers the flexibility of paying per mile driven, Drivewise tracks your driving behavior to potentially earn discounts. Additionally, Allstate’s pay in full discount can be an attractive option for those looking to save on their premiums by paying the entire policy upfront.

By taking advantage of this discount, policyholders can enjoy savings while maintaining comprehensive coverage. For low-mileage drivers seeking cost-effective options, car insurance mileage-based plans like Allstate’s Milewise provide tailored coverage that aligns with their driving habits.

With features such as Allstate rewards points to cash, policyholders can further maximize savings or enjoy rewards for their safe driving behaviors. Furthermore, Allstate’s safe driving club offers additional benefits and incentives for maintaining a clean driving record, making it an appealing choice for those prioritizing safety and savings.

For those concerned about coverage during car rentals, Allstate rental coverage ensures peace of mind and protection in various rental situations. Additionally, exploring car insurance tracking device reviews can help drivers make informed decisions when selecting insurance plans tailored to their specific needs.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Can you get other discounts from Allstate?

If you’re on the fence about whether Milewise is the best choice, you should consider other ways to save from Allstate. Allstate customers can take advantage of the following car insurance discounts:

  • Anti-lock brakes. If your car has anti-lock brakes, you’ll earn a small discount.
  • Easy Pay Plan. Although Allstate offers a variety of ways to pay, you can get a small discount if you sign up for automatic withdrawals from your bank account.
  • Allstate eSmart. Go paperless, and your insurance will cost a little less.
  • FullPay. Many drivers split their insurance payments into monthly increments, but you’ll pay less if you pay for your entire policy at once.
  • Early signing. You’ll get a discount if you purchase an Allstate policy at least seven days before it starts.
  • Passive restraint. Earn this discount simply by having passive restraints in your car, such as automatic seat belts.
  • Smart student. Unmarried full-time students under 25 can earn a discount for going away and leaving their car, maintaining a B-average GPA, or completing Allstate’s teenSMART program.
  • New car. Allstate will give you a discount if you’re the first owner of a vehicle from the current or previous model year.
  • Multi-policy. Allstate sells a lot more coverage than just car insurance. If you buy home, life, or renters insurance with your car policy, you’ll get a discount.
  • Safe driving club. You can earn a safe driving bonus for every six months you go without getting into an accident. Allstate also gives you $100 off your collision insurance every year you go without an accident.
  • Responsible payer. Earn a discount by successfully paying for your insurance for 12 months in a row without receiving a cancellation notice.

If you’re trying to save as much as possible, Allstate also offers Drivewise. Drivewise is a usage-based insurance program that tracks your driving habits, like sudden braking and quick acceleration. If you drive well enough, you could earn a discount of up to 40%.

What’s the difference between Milewise and Drivewise?

Milewise and Drivewise are programs Allstate offers to help customers save money on their insurance. Milewise offers savings for low-mileage drivers, while Drivewise rewards people for safe driving habits. When you sign up for Allstate Drivewise, you’ll install a small device into your car’s onboard diagnostic (OBD) port. The device in your OBD port communicates with the Allstate app to track your driving behaviors.  Unlike Milewise, which just tracks mileage, the Allstate Drivewise app collects the following types of data:

  • Speed. The app calculates your average speed and how many times you drive over 80 mph.
  • Time of day. The app tracks when you start driving, how long you drive, and when the trip ends.
  • Starts and stops. When you sign up for Drivewise, you should minimize the times you suddenly stop or accelerate quickly.

You’ll earn a discount on your car insurance if your driving behaviors are safe enough.  Drivewise also offers extra incentives to encourage safe driving through a points system. You earn 15,000 points for signing up for Drivewise, and you can add 200 points by doing the following:

  • Completing 10 trips without speeding or suddenly braking
  • Driving for three consecutive days without sudden braking
  • Driving for three successive days with no high speeds

Another benefit of using Drivewise is that it will calculate tips to help you better your driving skills. This is useful for everyone, but teens and other inexperienced drivers will find it especially beneficial. Read more: Car Insurance Teen Discount Gps Tracker 

Milewise vs. The Competition

With more Americans working from home or choosing alternative transportation methods, pay-per-mile insurance could save more drivers money than ever. However, there aren’t many insurance options that charge by the mile. When looking for pay-per-mile insurance, there are two primary options — you can shop with standard companies that offer pay-per-mile programs, like Allstate, or buy car insurance from a company specializing in pay-per-mile policies, such as Metromile or Mile Auto. Compare Milewise vs. Metromile and other popular pay-per-mile options to see which is the cheapest in your state.

Milewise vs. ByMile by Liberty Mutual

Liberty Mutual offers ByMile for low-mileage drivers, though you’ll need to check its availability — ByMile is not available in every state. With ByMile, you need to install a plug-in device into your car’s OBD port. The plug-in device tracks your mileage, which Liberty Mutual uses to determine your rates. Although Milewise and ByMile are very similar, Liberty Mutual caps the number of miles you can be charged at 150 miles per day. To keep track of your daily and monthly miles, you can download the ByMile app. You can also use the Liberty Mutual app to pay your bills, access ID cards, file claims, and sign-up for the safe driving program, RightTrack. Drivers with ByMile save about 25% on their insurance, though the exact amount you’ll see depends on your unique circumstances.

Milewise vs. Metromile

The top alternative to Milewise is Metromile. Metromile is another pay-per-mile car insurance option and works much the same way as Milewise. Read our Metromile review for more information on the company. Unlike Milewise, Metromile is only available in eight states which include:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Illinois
  • New Jersey
  • Oregon
  • Pennslyvania
  • Virginia
  • Washington

Metromile has a standard rate of about $26 at zero miles per month. Like Milewise, Metromile offers some coverage benefits like roadside assistance and discounts such as mature-driver and multi-car.

Like ByMile, Metromile uses a small plug-in device in the OBD port to track your miles. Drivers can turn off the GPS tracking, so Metromile only tracks miles if they’re uncomfortable sharing their location. Drivers who put fewer than 10,000 miles on their car per year can see serious savings. People who drive less than 7,500 miles annually will see the lowest rates with Metromile. Metromile caps daily miles, so you’ll be charged up to 250 miles daily unless you live in New Jersey — New Jersey drivers don’t have to pay for anything past 150 miles per day. The Metromile app does more than track your monthly miles. You can also use it for the following features:

  • Track driving routes you frequently take
  • Find street-sweeping alerts in a few major cities
  • Assess your fuel economy
  • Alert you if your vehicle sends an error code
  • Track your vehicle, whether it’s stolen or you forgot where you parked

If you’re not ready to switch from a standard company to Metromile, the company offers a trial program called Ride Along.  The Ride Along app monitors your driving habits for 17 days, then gives you an estimate of what your monthly rates might be. You can sign up at that point, but you’re not obligated to purchase a policy. What sets Mileswise and Metromile apart is the charge for additional mileage and the number of complaints from customers. In both areas, Metromile comes in second.

Milewise vs. SmartMiles by Nationwide

Nationwide’s SmartMiles program has the widest availability for pay-per-mile insurance. Available in 40 states, Nationwide SmartMiles has some of the highest customer service ratings. As a bonus, it offers an extra discount if you practice safe driving habits. SmartMiles works the same as many other pay-per-mile insurance programs. Nationwide will send you a small plug-in device for your OBD port. You don’t need to install an app with SmartMiles — Nationwide will automatically receive your mileage. Drivers who put fewer than 5,000 miles on their cars per year will see the best rates with SmartMiles, but anyone who drives less than 10,000 will get a discount. On the other hand, you’ll likely pay more if you drive 13,000 miles or more.  SmartMiles doesn’t offer quotes to people who drive 15,000 miles annually.

Milewise vs. Mile Auto

Mile Auto car insurance is also dedicated to pay-per-mile insurance. This company is a good choice for drivers who put fewer than 10,000 miles on their car — any more and you’ll probably pay too much for coverage. Mile Auto sets itself apart from its competitors by the way it collects your mileage. Rather than relying on an app or plug-in device, drivers send pictures of their odometers once a month. This makes Mile Auto a great choice for people who don’t want their insurance company constantly tracking their location. Mile Auto is one of the cheapest options for pay-per-mile insurance, with the average low-mileage driver paying 40% less than standard coverage. Unfortunately, Mile Auto is only available in seven states, though the company plans on expanding soon. Although Mile Auto has low rates, it struggles with its customer service. Many drivers complain that representatives are hard to get in touch with. Mile Auto has limited hours of operation, which increases the difficulty of contacting customer support.

Compare Allstate Milewise Insurance Quotes Today

Allstate Milewise might be a good choice for any driver who puts fewer than 10,000 miles per year on their vehicle. With average savings between 25% and 33%, you can significantly lower the amount you pay for car insurance. Unfortunately, Milewise is not available in every state. Even if Milewise is available in your state, you should still compare your options. Looking at competitors like Mile Auto or Nationwide’s SmartMiles could save you even more money on car insurance.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Evaluating Claims Handling: Allstate Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

Allstate provides a straightforward and user-friendly process for filing insurance claims. Customers have multiple options for filing claims, including online, over the phone, and through their mobile apps. This flexibility ensures that policyholders can choose the method that best suits their preferences and needs.

Average Claim Processing Time

Allstate is known for its efficient claim processing. On average, the company processes claims promptly, allowing policyholders to receive the necessary assistance and compensation quickly in their time of need. The exact processing time may vary depending on the nature and complexity of the claim, but Allstate’s commitment to a swift resolution is evident.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback is a valuable indicator of an insurance company’s performance in handling claims. Allstate has received positive reviews from customers regarding its claim resolutions and payouts. Policyholders have expressed satisfaction with the fairness and effectiveness of Allstate’s claims process, highlighting the company’s dedication to ensuring that customers receive the support they require.

Unleashing Innovation With Allstate Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Allstate offers a feature-rich mobile app that enhances the overall insurance experience for its customers. The app provides convenient access to policy information, allows users to file claims, and offers tools for managing and tracking their coverage. With user-friendly navigation and useful features, the Allstate mobile app empowers policyholders to stay connected and informed.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Policyholders can easily manage their insurance policies through Allstate’s online account management platform. This web-based portal enables customers to review policy details, make payments, update personal information, and access important documents. Allstate’s commitment to providing a seamless online experience contributes to the convenience of managing insurance accounts.

Digital Tools and Resources

In addition to its mobile app and online account management, Allstate offers a range of digital tools and resources to assist customers in making informed decisions about their insurance coverage. These resources include educational materials, calculators, and informative content designed to help policyholders understand their insurance options better.

Does Allstate Milewise have good ratings?

As the fourth-largest car insurance company in America, Allstate insurance reviews generally consider the company a solid choice for coverage and has excellent ratings. One of the most critical aspects of an insurance company is that it can reliably pay out on claims. A.M. Best rates companies on their financial strength, which is a key indicator of their ability to pay claims. Allstate has an A+ financial rating from A.M. Best. Another third-party company that offers valuable insight is the Better Business Bureau (BBB). The BBB rates companies on their ability to resolve customer complaints. Allstate has an A+ from the BBB, but reviewers on the site tend to leave negative reviews. A final place to check for ratings is the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), which compares the number of complaints a company gets with its size. The national average is 1.0 — a higher score means the company gets more complaints. Allstate usually has decent NAIC ratings, with a 1.88 in 2019. However, the company has been struggling recently with its complaints and currently sits at a 4.04. As for Allstate Milewise complaints, many drivers state that the rates advertised for Milewise are lower than what they actually see. However, most people are happy with the affordability that comes with Milewise, the coverage options, and how easy it is to sign up.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

In Summary: Allstate Milewise

Allstate Milewise Car Insurance Discount is a unique and innovative program that offers a flexible payment option for drivers who don’t drive a lot. With the ability to pay for car insurance based on the miles driven, this discount can potentially save you money on your premiums if you drive less frequently. Additionally, Allstate offers various other discounts, such as the Safe Driver Discount, Multi-Policy Discount, Anti-Theft Device Discount, Good Student Discount, New Car Discount, and Full Payment Discount, which can further help you save on your car insurance premiums. It’s essential to check with Allstate or your local Allstate agent to determine your eligibility for these discounts and find the best insurance coverage and discounts that suit your needs.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Allstate car insurance cover rental cars?

Yes, Allstate typically offers rental reimbursement coverage as an optional add-on to their auto insurance policies.

Does Allstate cover delivery drivers?

Allstate may offer coverage for delivery drivers, but it depends on the specific policy and terms. It’s best to check with an Allstate representative for details.

Does Allstate Milewise track driving habits?

Yes, Allstate Milewise is a usage-based insurance program that tracks driving habits to determine insurance rates.

Does Allstate offer low mileage discount?

Yes, Allstate offers a low mileage discount through its Milewise program, which bases premiums on actual miles driven.

Does Allstate offer Gap insurance?

Yes, Allstate offers Gap insurance, which covers the difference between what you owe on your car and its actual cash value in the event of a total loss.

How does Allstate determine car value?

Allstate typically determines the value of a car using various factors, including the vehicle’s age, mileage, condition, and market value.

How does Allstate rental reimbursement work?

Allstate’s rental reimbursement coverage helps pay for the cost of renting a car while your vehicle is being repaired after a covered accident. Reimbursement limits and eligibility criteria apply.

How do I redeem my Allstate rewards points?

To redeem Allstate rewards points, log in to your Allstate account online or through the mobile app and follow the instructions provided for redemption.

How long does Geico take to approve insurance?

The time it takes for Geico to approve insurance can vary depending on factors such as the type of coverage, your driving record, and the complexity of the policy. Typically, approval can happen within minutes to a few days.

How does Milewise work?

Allstate Milewise is a pay-per-mile insurance program where your premium is based on the number of miles you drive. You install a device in your car that tracks mileage, and you pay a base rate plus a per-mile rate.

How does pay-per-mile car insurance work?

Pay-per-mile car insurance, like Allstate Milewise, charges you based on the number of miles you drive. You typically pay a base rate plus a per-mile rate, which is tracked through a device installed in your car.

How good is Allstate at paying claims?

Allstate is generally regarded as a reputable insurance company with a strong claims-paying reputation. However, individual experiences may vary.

How many miles does Allstate towing coverage?

Allstate’s towing coverage typically offers a certain number of miles of towing per service call, which can vary depending on your specific policy.

How much does Allstate insurance cost?

The cost of Allstate insurance varies depending on factors such as your location, driving history, coverage options, and discounts. You can get a personalized quote by contacting Allstate or using their online tools.

What is Allstate easy pay plan?

Allstate easy pay is a payment plan that allows policyholders to set up automatic payments for their insurance premiums, helping to ensure timely payments.

How much does it cost to add a driver to car insurance Allstate?

The cost to add a driver to your Allstate car insurance policy depends on factors such as the driver’s age, driving record, and other individual factors.

How much is Allstate full pay discount?

Allstate may offer a discount for policyholders who choose to pay their premiums in full upfront rather than in installments. The amount of the discount can vary.

How much is Allstate pay-per-mile?

The cost of Allstate’s pay-per-mile insurance, such as Milewise, depends on factors like your driving habits, location, vehicle, and coverage options.

How to redeem Allstate points for cash?

To redeem Allstate points for cash, log in to your account and navigate to the rewards or points redemption section. Follow the instructions provided to cash out your points.

Is Allstate a good auto insurance company?

Allstate is generally considered a reputable auto insurance company with a range of coverage options and discounts. However, the quality of service may vary based on individual experiences and needs.

Is Allstate auto insurance legit?

Yes, Allstate is a legitimate and well-established auto insurance company with millions of policyholders nationwide.

Is Allstate Milewise worth it?

Whether Allstate Milewise is worth it depends on your driving habits and insurance needs. It can be a good option for low-mileage drivers who want more control over their insurance costs.

What is Allstate eSmart?

Allstate eSmart is a feature that provides policyholders with access to online tools and resources for managing their insurance policies and claims.

What is Allstate eSmart discount?

The Allstate eSmart discount is a discount offered to policyholders who choose to manage their policies online through the eSmart platform.

What is Allstate safe driving club?

Allstate safe driving club is a program that rewards safe driving habits with discounts and rewards for policyholders.

What is Allstate safe driving club discount?

The Allstate safe driving club discount is a discount offered to policyholders who participate in the Safe Driving Club program and demonstrate safe driving habits.

What happens if you unplug Milewise device?

If you unplug the Milewise device, Allstate may not be able to accurately track your mileage, which could affect your insurance premium or coverage. It’s important to follow the terms and conditions of the Milewise program.

Daniel S. Young

Insurance Content Team Lead

Daniel S. Young is a journalist based in Birmingham, Alabama. He began his professional career in 2018 as a writer, editor, and later chief editor for his student newspaper, The Chanticleer, at Jacksonville State University. He also has written bylines for The Anniston Star, a local newspaper in Anniston, Alabama. He holds a BA  in Communication with a focus in Digital Journalism and is pursuing ...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Dani Best

Licensed Insurance Producer

Dani Best has been a licensed insurance producer for nearly 10 years. Dani began her insurance career in a sales role with State Farm in 2014. During her time in sales, she graduated with her Bachelors in Psychology from Capella University and is currently earning her Masters in Marriage and Family Therapy. Since 2014, Dani has held and maintains licenses in Life, Disability, Property, and Casualt...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Reviews
for Allstate

4.00 (11,412 reviews)
3
June 20, 2023

EveC

Always lose arbitrations

I had gotten backed into. Have audio of it. Have video of her driving away with her damage and license. Have him on audio with his phone # and saying her name threatening if we call it into insurance. Allstate still lost the case and I'm out a deductible! In the 90's taxi ran stop sign police report said looked exactly like what happened and Allstate still lost that one too!!! Bye bye Allstate!
0.5
October 17, 2022

Valencia Harris

ALLSTATE INSURANCE

PLEASE DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. I wish I had come to this site before made the HUGE mistake of switching my auto insurance and bundling it with Allstate. They were fine as my homeowner\'s plan. I switched my auto coverage in August trying to reduce my auto insurance due to the increase with my previous plan to save money. I paid my policy in full, was mistake #1, In October my Allstate coverage increased by 89.00, I ...
PLEASE DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. I wish I had come to this site before made the HUGE mistake of switching my auto insurance and bundling it with Allstate. They were fine as my homeowner\'s plan. I switched my auto coverage in August trying to reduce my auto insurance due to the increase with my previous plan to save money. I paid my policy in full, was mistake #1, In October my Allstate coverage increased by 89.00, I called to get an explanation, to call this a customer service department would be a LIE! There was NO customer services at all, in fact speaking with Juan and Pat was like speaking with a child who had yet to learn how to comprehend, think or articulate. They simply read the document I had in hand to me as if I couldn\'t read even though I told them I have it, but it doesn\'t give an explanation of why the increase took place. The only response I received from either of them was insults Pat told me I could cancel my coverage as if she didn\'t care, Juan told me nothing. I am so disheartened cause I will need to start looking for other coverage and it seems like the staff these establishments are hiring are inept and inadequate they aren\'t able to function. They won\'t let you speak with a supervisor, one rattled paper in the phone to get me off of the phone. They ar enasty and purposely unhelpful, I wrote Allstste on line and never received a response from their customer service.
1
June 4, 2022

Keith_G__

As Discriminatory As You Can Possibly Get

My wife worked at one of Allstate's satellite offices. I proposed to her over the weekend. On Monday, her boss fired her after showing her ring off to a coworker. He took her into his office and explained she was being fired because he "believed in the Bible." My wife and I called Allstate HR at the corporate office and told them what had happened and they told us that because my wife worked at a satellite office, which were owned and run by indi...
My wife worked at one of Allstate's satellite offices. I proposed to her over the weekend. On Monday, her boss fired her after showing her ring off to a coworker. He took her into his office and explained she was being fired because he "believed in the Bible." My wife and I called Allstate HR at the corporate office and told them what had happened and they told us that because my wife worked at a satellite office, which were owned and run by individual people, those satellite offices could be run however they wanted and none of AllStates corporate protections applied. They basically said 'too bad so sad.' A little while later, before we'd had a chance to switch insurance companies yet (a long and tedious process) I got into a car accident. The other driver ran a red light, hitting me and I was sent to the hospital. I'm a transgender man and was literally about to change my legal name within a few days. I called Allstate to file the claim and asked that they use my new legal name. They said they couldn't because it wouldn't be official for a few days. I said 'fine, I'll call back in a few days." They then threatened me and told me if I didn't file "RIGHT NOW" they wouldn't take care of my claim. I was then forced to give my statement while being deadnamed and misgendered the entire time. Believe it or not this story it gets worse. So months go by. MONTHS. The insurance that was paying for a rental car runs out. I still have no reimebursment so I cannot buy a new car (mine was totaled.) I'm bein harassed by the bank over my car note, which obviously I wasn't paying since my car was totaled and Allstate was SUPPOSED to reimburse me for nearly everything. I had excellent coverage and excellent credit. I'm in constant contact with them. E-mails, phone calls, more e-mail, more phone calls. Every. Single. Day. And they will not give me the money. Excuse after excuse, and I'm deadnamed and misgendered every single time. Even though now my legal name has changed, they insisted on putting my dead name and wrong gender on the original report. So now people are VERY confused when they talk to me, hearing my deep masculine voice and seeing my pretty feminine name on paper. THANKS ALLSTATE! I was humiliated, endlessly, every day for over NINE MONTHS. Meanwhile, my wife is driving me to and from work because the insurance covering the rental car ran out months ago. My credit is being destroyed because I have no insurance money to buy a new car or pay the bank for the old car fee with, and I'm still recovering physically from the crash. I end up getting a lawyer and I told them "give me my money you've owed me for over 9 months now by tomorrow or I'm suing you." Magically, the next day, all the money was released. Allstate put me through a [REDACTED WORD] I cannot describe properly on this complaint. I never imagined in all my life how much hardship and hurt an insurance company could truly cause. Stay away. Far FAR away.
1
February 15, 2022

brenda_trammell

RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS!!!

worse insurance EVER !!! STAY AWAY !!!and i have had a few RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS MY PAYMENT FOR THE MONTH WAS A 100.00 MORE AND 1ST CS PERSON TRY TO TELL ME OVER SOME PAPER WORK THAT I GOT AND DIDNT SIGN, NEVER HAPPEN!! AND THE STUPID LADY I TALK TO NEXT TOLD ME IT WENT UP FOR TALKING IT OFF OF AUTO PAY WTH [REDACTED]
1
February 11, 2022

Akiraw1_

The worst insurance ever

Absolutely the worst insurance company ever complete liars scammers and they charge a ridiculous price….Liberty mutual is the best route if you ask me
1
January 6, 2022

pirish101

Way overpriced! Will scam you if you cancel!

After shopping around I found a policy that was 1/3 the cost (Literally 1/3 the cost) and cancelled. After canceling I was charged 30% of the yearly fee after only having insurance for 13 days. Total scam hidden in the fine print.
1
January 2, 2022

Carolyn0022

Untrained and Ignorant CS Team and Managers

All the customer service reps and their managers are ignorant. They will have me scenarios on how they are not liable for the damages. I called many times and talked with many people there. All are stupid and unhelpful!! Stay away
1
December 17, 2021

Allstate_Sucks_in_CA

Allstate SUCKS

Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has...
Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has to look at it. Funny, Allstate knows how to cash my check every month. Too many insurance companies out there to pay for crap experiences like this, go someplace else.
3
August 9, 2021

Shaytys50_

Unprofessional Agent

My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was t...
My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was treated by the one Agent! She has know customer service skills. Her name is [REDACTED NAME].
2
July 6, 2021

rickcf

Need to watch them and Drivewise is a scam.

In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the pho...
In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the phone app. But in the past year+ the phone app now hangs and crashes so you can't even do anything with it, worthless. My drivewise 'rewards' is very low if anything at all and our car rates are going up. We will be looking at other insurance again. We had allstate 15 years ago and dropped them because they raised the rates slowly over the competition and I will check to see if they are doing it again.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption